Speaking to Citizen TV, Education minister Dr Fred Matiang’i said that several universities may be shut down in the New Year for offering substandard education.

Matiang’i said an audit of the universities had so far shown that some were admitting unqualified students for degree courses hinting that some degree certificates may also be revoked in future as their holders did not meet the requirements to pursue the said courses.

There’s however a rumored list of the blacklisted list of Universities that the ministry has its eyes on.

  1. Kibabi University College
  2. Kirinyaga University
  3. Maasai Mara University
  4. Machakos University
  5. Murang’a University
  6. Rongo University
  7. South Eastern Kenya University
  8. Taita Taveta University
  9. Technical University of Kenya
  10. University of Kabianga
  11. Karatina University
  12. University of Eldoret


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.