President Kenyatta at his inauguration in 2017
President Kenyatta at his inauguration in 2017

Eleven Heads of State have confirmed that they will attend President. In a new notice, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs divulged that delegations from at least 43 countries would be present.

Other delegations will be led by Vice Presidents, Prime Ministers and special envoys.

World leaders expected at the event include:
John Pombe Magufuli (Tanzania)
Yoweri Museveni (Uganda)
Paul Kagame (Rwanda)
Ian Khama (Botswana)
Edgar Lungu (Zambia)

Alongside them will be Benjamin Netanyahu (Israel’s PM), Hailemariam Desalegn (Ethiopia’s PM), Mohammed Farmajo (Somalia), Hage Geingob (Namibia), Ismaïl Omar Guelleh (Djibouti) and Faure Gnassingbé (Togo).

The countries that will be represented by Vice Presidents and Prime Ministers are Angola, Burundi, Nigeria, Yemen, Democratic Republic of Congo and Nigeria. Those that will send special envoys are Senegal, China and Japan. Also in attendance will be Foreign Affairs ministers from South Africa, Ukraine, India and Britain.

President Kenyatta is set to take his oath of office at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani. Rehearsals for the event are currently ongoing at the Stadium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.